The Author Spotlight on B. Alan Bourgeois author of “Extinguishing the Light”

alan-face-2

I have been writing now for over twenty-five years in a wide variety of forms and genres, winning a couple of awards along the way. I have also worked as a publisher for six of those years before creating three non- profits that support authors in non-traditional and progressive ways.

I began writing when I was just a child, but as many children of my era were told, that is, those of us who were inclined toward an artistic career, “You need to study and get a real job to earn a living,” a statement from a well-meaning mother which unfortunately put a pause on my desire to write.

In 1989, I was asked to write a short story based on an actual event in my life. I wrote the story and it was published under the title of $200 Alan. Seeing my story in print sparked and inspired the flame to write. Since then I have written many articles, short stories, editorials and I have published seven books covering many genres.

Through the process of writing and getting published I began to see a need for additional marketing avenues for authors which was not covered by traditional or conventional publishing channels. I developed and created new ways to market and sell books which benefits those who use these concepts and I continue to work at coming up with new ways to think outside the box and to galvanize authors into creating stronger platforms with which to launch their books. My award-winning talk, “Renegade Marketing” has helped authors think outside the traditional box of publishing and marketing and with great results. In late 2017 I will be publishing a new book which takes up contemporary changes in the publishing industry and how to capitalize on them.

Today I also provide a special service for a niche market, authors in the state of Texas. I created Texas Association of Authors to help an estimated 8400 Texas authors who write on a wide range of subject matters. TAA does this through seminars, through on-line book stores and while traveling around the state with the TAA ‘pop-up’ store.

41mslynmsl-_sy445_ql70_

Tell us about your book and why you wrote it?
Extinguishing the Light was written to give people an insightful moment to think about what would happen if a modern day Christ came along and what he might do and how he would act in our contemporary culture. The story is based on real life as well as touching on the story of Christ. I realized in writing the book that it might offend some people, or many, those who would not be happy with this depiction of a Christ-figure, but it had to be written to give people something to consider as they deal with everyday life. As I see it, every writer should be willing to step up and be responsible for what they write, even if it is fictional.

 

 

cropped-iwic-logo-icon.png

 

texasauthorssml