The Author Spotlight on Zubin Mathai author of “The Oarsman” and “The Ant that found God”.

 

author_medres

I grew up in a suburb of Montreal, Canada, and even though my parents pushed me towards science, I was always drawn to more creative endeavors. I learned to program the family computer at twelve and loved making video games, adding ideas from my head to the blank-slate of the screen, typing until I saw robots or little aliens marching across the monitor. To fuel the daydreams I loved, I would write them out as a little kid, letting imagination paint words, and then letting the cadence of sentences feed back to spur on even more imagery. But, alas, I never wrote professionally when younger, instead choosing the life of a software engineer. I became an expert, started companies, and blazed trails through the internet, but still the passion to write kept nagging.
What prompted you to become a writer?
In my late forties, I thought back to a trip I took at twenty-four, where I went to India, to the Himalayas, and lived and meditated for five months in a pristine forest by a rushing river. I felt peace rolling down the mountains back then, and it touched the tips of the trees, ignited the winds, and filled my soul. As I sat hunched over my computer one day, I remembered that precious feeling, and an ache to share what lay in my heart was reawakened. I thought again about writing.
What do readers like about your writing?
From feedback, readers seem to like my poetic descriptions, my subject matter, and the feelings of love and silence I weave through words to bring the same to their hearts. They like that I am not preachy, for I am writing fiction instead of non-fiction, and so I stuff my stories with adventure, action, and interesting characters, all serving the subtle, spiritual themes spun through my tales.
Is there a message weaved into your writing?
The stories I like to write are often about nature, since I live in a place that is surrounded by mountains and stillness. I write about the force of love painting self-recognition in people, animals, and everything that you meet throughout the day, and I write about how happiness is just beneath all our surfaces, just waiting to be rediscovered.

99868c44366f15830ba99792ceb27060fcf6ab6c-thumb
What is it that you want to inspire in others or change in the world through your writing?
I hope that my writing inspires people to look at themselves anew, to freshly dive down to the truths at their cores. It is not a difficult journey, for it is the most natural, built-in to every last one of us, an ache to surrender to what you have always only ever been.
Tell us about your most recent book and why you wrote it?
When I knew I wanted to write something, the idea came quickly. I thought about all the roles I had played in my life, from son to meditator, from addict to entrepreneur, and knew I wanted to use those roles to help paint a story of self-discovery. I set it against a fantastical backdrop, in the times of castles and knights, and wrote to release all the roles that were trapped in my heart. A few months later, I finished The Oarsman.

cropped-iwic-logo-icon.png

        2