Authors – “every day you are influencing someone’s life, somewhere.”

 

43931340fbcd177e66f8452831278c5e

Authors burn the midnight oil, sacrifice their backs, forget to shower, drink copious amounts of coffee, leave the garbage sitting in the hallway and probably aggravate the hell out of their spouses sometimes who insist that it is time to walk away from the computer and take a break. Authors are driven, they are inspired, they have a world inside of them that they want the world outside to read about.

Sometimes, when sales falter or it seems as if no one is paying attention, one can forget that probably every day, your book or books, the words you spun, are influencing someone’s life, somewhere.

Homer, the famous Greek Poet, who wrote the Illiad and The Odyssey somewhere in the 7th century BC – long before Rome existed, before Christ, before Shakespeare, and certainly before anything contemporary, nearly two thousand years after he penned that epic tale, his words are still inspiring the minds of people today.

I am reminded of a reader who wrote me sometime ago and quite out of the blue informed me that I was her role model as an author. I had no idea. It didn’t bloat my head, but it certainly reminded me that there is no possible way of ever knowing the ways and avenues through which your works as an author will influence the lives of others.

Years before I began my writing career, I was handed a book by Richard Bach, called Jonathan Livingston Seagull. It was not more than 90 pages or so, much of it grainy black and white photos – a simple story, but one which changed my life forever. That man planted the seeds for my own career as an author some thirty years before I ever wrote my first book and he has never heard from me and probably has no idea that I exist.

silhouette-cindi-fantasy

The moral of the story here is that all the blood, sweat and tears you expend, the quiet and sometimes lonely hours you engage doing what you love most, writing, is worth it. It is worth every minute of it because words and stories, unlike cars, houses, boats and money, are immortal. They never die. Keep writing, keep inspiring the world – because writers are visionaries – the architects of new futures, new possibilities and new frontiers.

cropped-iwic-logo-icon-white-background.jpg

At IWIC we simply want to help you, the author, the writer, the architect of new panoramas, to shine brighter. We understand the process, because we live it too. Try us out, get an Author Spotlight or a Book Review, or better yet, our Combination Package. We’ll make sure that you and your works touch the lives of even more people. See the IWIC Magazine for samples of our work.